sbg  

LockedUp RC
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Airbrush Paint Type and Brands

Default Airbrush Paint Type and Brands

So I'm an airbrush newbie but want to get a setup for painting hard bodies. Currently I'm working on a Team Raffee D90 Pickup Body.

Iv'e been searching all over so either I don't know what I'm looking for or nobody has asked my question before, doubt it but here goes.

What type of paint / brand do I want to use in my airbrush to paint my D90 Hardbody Pickup? Best answer would be a ready to go brand bottle that didn't need thinning an was readily available.

Acrylic, Enamel, ?

Thanks in advance for any help someone can provide.

i heard acrylic works but it needs to be thinned

So acrylic will adhere well to the hardbody? I'll prime it of course but want to make sure what I put on next stays

well i would wait to see what other say because acrylic doesnt bond to all types of plastic

Quote Originally Posted by Lordwayback View Post
    i heard acrylic works but it needs to be thinned
    If you don't have first hand knowledge, please don't offer tips or advice.

Airbrushing entire bodies is tedious at best. I suggest typical Tamiya or Enamel sprays for the majority of major body work (automotive touch-up cans are great), then follow that up with an airbrush for weathering and detail work. You'll be a lot more pleased with the results that way. For airbrushing, on hard bodies, I recommend Vallejo Model Air. It's pre-thinned and ready for all airbrushes. Come in every color of the rainbow.

EDIT: Always prime first to avoid adhesion issues.
    Last edited by imthatguy; 05-31-2020 at 03:17 PM.
    SBG OWNER YOUTUBE AXIAL AMBASSADOR GCM TEAM DRIVER VANQUISH KNIGHT CUSTOMS TEAM

Thanks imthatguy :)

Quote Originally Posted by TwIzTuD View Post
    So acrylic will adhere well to the hardbody? I'll prime it of course but want to make sure what I put on next stays