sbg  

AE Element
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Full Throttle Garage

Default Full Throttle Garage

What's going on everyone! This is my first build thread here on the SBG and I'm excited to show it off as it comes together. I have been scrolling through the pages here for a while now and pick up a few things, one of them being the awesomeness of scale garages. I decide a scale garage would be a great way for me to get a little practice with styrene so I started brainstorming.

Here's where I started. I created the walls on my existing workbench using white foam board, the kind of stuff you would use for school projects. It was pretty easy to work with and really cheap so it works well.

I'm aiming for the interior look of professional race shop, clean white walls and floor, and painted beams. Unfortunately, the styrene I-Beams I ordered were back-ordered so I'm stuck waiting on them.
    I did go ahead and get my lighting situation figured out. The led strips combined with my work lamp give me more than enough light... for now.

Then came my first ever attempt with styrene. Here is my enclosure for the roll up garage door. Its a simple build, but it was a great way for me to dive into the world of styrene. The second picture also shows my first idea for the garage door itself, but that didn't work as planned. More on that later.

I should have more pictures and progress to share tomorrow. Don't want my first post to be super long

-Sam

Good start! Will follow this for sure as I've been planning on building a scale garage for my workbench too

Well I don't have much of an update today cause I forgot to take pictures of a good bit of it>