sbg  

Pro-Line

Thread: First Attempt at Hacking a Hard Body...need help!

Question First Attempt at Hacking a Hard Body...need help!

I am very new to SBG and my goodness all of your build threads and finished rigs look better than static model rig displays! I've had about a year and a half modifying, painting, and stealth mounting only Tamiya abs hard bodies never anything else.

I learned how to paint near professional levels from my club members in Houston, TX as well as from J. Walker on RCC where I am most active.

I wanted to pose this question here because your work speaks for itself! I acquired an 1/8 New Bright JK that I will be mounting onto an scx10 chassis with Wraith AR60 axles or Wraith Curries since I will be running a 2.2 rig.

Current wheelbase of the body is 14" and I want to do a Brute conversion and try to move the rear end wheel well area forward to a 12.3" Honcho wheelbase.

I will have a full custom painted interior and I have a trusted friend doing some body armor once I dremel off the fake plastic fender flares and running boards off the body.

That will be later on.

I need tips on moving the rear forward about 2" and also need to putty and sand the rear doors while still not destroying the rear end of the body.

What do I use to safely cut abs? What grit sandpapers would I need and what order?

I'm totally lost lol please help!

Thanks,
    Alex

Welcome Alex.

Without having that body in front of me, I'd suggest finding an area where there's no transition in width and trimming that out. It'd be easier if you posted a few photos so we're clear on what you want to accomplish.

ABS can be cut with just about anything sharp. I use a razor saw. Tape the line you want to cut so you keep it straight. As for sandpaper, I start at 80 and work my way up to 1000. But I'm a bit OCD.
    SBG OWNER YOUTUBE AXIAL AMBASSADOR GCM TEAM DRIVER VANQUISH KNIGHT CUSTOMS TEAM

Lol imthatguy, I remember seeing your username on RCC many times.