PDA

View Full Version : Painting the outside of a Wraith - light stripes on a dark background

donaldm314
08-21-2012, 06:41 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm working on my first build: a wraith kit. Quite enjoying this, and I'm really inspired by all the amazing rigs I'm seeing here!

I've painted the inside of the body panels with copper and silver -- going for the rusted metal look after the outside is scratched.

I'd like to paint the outside with Tamiya metallic blue (PS-16) with Tamiya orange (PS-7) stripes. I'm guessing I paint orange, then tape over where I want the orange stripes, then paint the blue.

Never done this before (did I mention it's my first build?). I think what I do is:
1. remove the protective film
2. wash/dry
3. primer
4. paint the entire outside of the panel orange; apply as many coats as required
5. use painters tape to cover where I want the orange lines to be; press the tape down really well with a roller/credit card, maybe even some heat from a hair dryer
6. paint as many coats of blue as required
7. when dry, remove the mask and marvel at my creation.

Is this how you'd proceed?

Thanks!

imthatguy
08-21-2012, 08:56 PM
No need to prime with PS paints if you ask me. And use the base for whatever colour you want to see the most of. Let the paint cure really well before taping over. Look forward to seeing it! If you want to see stripes, check out my Wraith thread!

Good luck!

donaldm314
08-22-2012, 07:09 AM
Thanks imthatguy, read your whole bluesmobile/tiger thread. That's an awesome wraith! I'm surprised nobody has bought it yet.

I'll cancel the primer steps, and do my stripes last. Won't be a tiger though, nor a zebra, nor even a giraffe.

Cheers!

imthatguy
08-22-2012, 07:23 AM
Raccoon tail?

donaldm314
08-22-2012, 01:41 PM
Raccoon tail?

I'm going with the skunk look.

donaldm314
10-05-2012, 07:14 PM
Resurrecting my old thread. My wraith build might be the slowest ever.